Dreams of India

Last night I had a dream that I was back in the village of Saraiya.  I could see it as clear as I can the Salt Lake valley now looking out my window.  The sun was shining as I stood at the first junction of the road just past the community center.  I looked out into the fields and watched maintenance of the hand washing stations we built.  Actually, they were being rebuilt, in the dream having fallen into disrepair assuming that we wouldn’t be back to check on them.  But as I had suspected as much, I wasn’t upset by this.  Actually, I was delighted to see them caring so much about pleasing us, even if it was just while we were watching.

Woman #1Woman #2Woman #3

It was also nice to be able to be there unannounced, as it were.  I traveled down the road toward the homes with great anticipation of seeing the faces of the women I have been missing since my time there.  I see their faces on the website and in the pictures I have on my computer, but it’s not the same.  I imagined how I would be greeted, coming down the road like at the end of “The Color Purple” when Celie is reunited with her family.

Woman #4Woman #5

That’s when I woke up.  I suppose I will have to wait until the fall to see how it ends.

One Comment on “Dreams of India”

  1. David keifert says:

    I have had several vivid dreams of the village since our return. Maybe we still have some unfinished work there 😉


Leave a Reply

